top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDaisy Weston

PROTEIN, SUPPLEMENTS + A RESTRICTED DIET

Updated: May 11, 2020

Ok so, I don’t tend to count calories nor do I track my macros, but sometimes (because I’m a bit of a nerd and like to practice my dietetics skills) I will run my dietary intake through a programme (Nutritics for those that are curious) that we use in class to see how my micro (think vitamins and minerals) and macronutrient (protein, carbs + fat) intake fairs.

Usually, my micro and macronutrient intakes are absolutely chill and within range - even though I have a pretty restricted diet (I can’t eat dairy, egg, sulphites, orange or chilli) and only consume about 3-4 meat/fish dishes per week. However, since moving home from uni, as a result of all the Corona shenanigans, my diet has become even more restricted – when I’m home I also avoid peanuts, nuts and sesame as my brothers are severely allergic to these and so for obvious reasons we don’t keep them in the house – it would quite literally be a recipe for disaster. Now obviously these foods are a pretty valuable source of protein for me – and so I was curious to see how my diet was doing without them. Turns out, on the days when I’m not consuming meat or fish, although my overall energy intake has not changed, my protein intake is significantly under what it should be. Kind of embarrassing considering I do study nutrition and dietetics and so probably should have seen this coming but hey ho, it’s made me realise that this could be a problem that other people could be facing and hence why I’m sharing it.

So, what am I doing about it, I’m trying to add more seeds, nut-free butters (e.g. WowButter) and roasted bean snacks (like fava beans) into my diet and for the sake of ease I’ve actually invested in a protein supplement - which I’m usually so sooo against but right now, because of my dietary restrictions, it makes sense for me to have it. (For more info on supplements and protein Sophie Medlin has written a vv good article about protein for exercise and performance and she summarises perfectly the reasons for why I would usually never touch a supplement – not because they’re dangerous but because it’s perfectly possible and vv easy for us (and even athletes!) to consume enough without having to use them).

Anyway, thought I’d just share this with you lot because I know that some of you that follow me also suffer from allergies and/or follow a plant-based diet and so making sure you’re consuming enough protein may also be a problem area for you.

Muchos love as always X X



If you wanna check out Sophie Medlin's post - hit up: https://www.citydietitians.co.uk/post/protein-for-exercise-and-performance


0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page